Independent Spirit Award nominations

Award season is about to start picking up rather quickly and my favorite branch of movie awards, the Independent Spirit Awards, announced their nominees for the 2013 award season. The Independent Spirit Awards shun the larger Oscar bait movies in favor of indie films that were made for under $20 million dollars (which is why “Avatar” was nowhere to be found at this awards show and “Precious” cleaned house with a well-deserved sweep). I’ve got a few predictions so far about possible winners, and here’s a rundown of the major categories.

Best Feature: Beasts of the Southern Wild; Bernie; Keep the Lights on; Moonrise Kingdom; Silver Linings Playbook. My prediction – Moonrise Kingdom might have it, but Silver Linings Playbook deserves it more.

Best Director: Wes Anderson, Moonrise Kingdom; Julia Loktev, The Loneliest Planet; David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook; Ira Sachs, Keep the Lights On; Benh Zeitlin, Beasts of the Southern Wild. My prediction – just like with Best Feature, it’s a tossup between Moonrise Kingdom (Wes Anderson) and Silver Linings Playbook (David O. Russell). Between the two, I’d put money on Wes Anderson since MK has been around longer and has been getting more award buzz, though I’d love for SLP to score an upset.

Best Female Lead: Linda Cardellini, Return; Emayatzy Corinealdi, Middle of Nowhere; Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook; Quvenzhané Wallis, Beasts of the Southern Wild; Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Smashed. My prediction – not even a contest. This one belongs to Jennifer Lawrence, not just for her amazing year and the two phenomenal (and drastically different) roles she took on, but also for the fact she’s an indie darling and these people love her with a capital L. 

Best Male Lead: Jack Black, Bernie; Bradley Cooper, Silver Linings Playbook; John Hawkes, The Sessions; Thure Lindhardt, Keep the Lights On; Matthew McConaughey, Killer Joe; Wendell Pierce, Four. My prediction – Bradley Cooper is his biggest competition at the moment, but John Hawkes earned this one. I would be stunned if he lost. 

Best Supporting Female: Rosemarie DeWitt, Your Sister’s Sister; Ann Dowd, Compliance; Helen Hunt, The Sessions; Brit Marling, Sound of My Voice; Lorraine Toussaint, Middle of Nowhere. My prediction – give it to Helen Hunt right now. The rest of the nominees shouldn’t even bother showing up.

Best Supporting Male: Matthew McConaughey, Magic Mike; David Oyelowo, Middle of Nowhere; Michael Péna, End of Watch; Sam Rockwell, Seven Psychopaths; Bruce Willis, Moonrise Kingdom. My prediction – I’d say Bruce Willis but I’d prefer Sam Rockwell. Bruce shouldn’t win on account of favoritism for Moonrise Kingdom, but I wouldn’t know how else he got nominated. I don’t hate the guy, I just don’t think he’s a good actor.

My two cents: First off, Matthew McConaughey for “Magic Mike?” FOR REAL?!?! I don’t buy it, not for a minute. What was it about his performance (it’s not supposed to sound that dirty!) that snagged him a nomination? There wasn’t much of anything in MM that seemed deserving of any award season recognition. Second, I was quite surprised that Aaron Paul didn’t get a nomination for “Smashed.” I truly expected to see his name here. Third, until I saw its budget (about ten minutes ago), I was absolutely convinced “The Master” would have won a plethora of nominations (damn you, $32 million budget!). The same went for “On the Road.” I was so sure it was going to be nominated, especially for Garrett Hedlund and Kristen Stewart (damn you, $25 million budget!). Last, I sincerely hope we don’t see another unjust hogging of awards, “Slumdog Millionaire” style, with “Moonrise Kingdom.” That little stunt ruined award season for me that year, and I’m just NOW fully recovered from it, so to have it all over again? No thank you.

Leave a Reply

